Regulatory record

Regulatory recordSupporting passage inspected

Amycretin is investigational. The characterization report describes it as a molecule being investigated in weight management and type 2 diabetes, and development has reached phase 3. The ClinicalTrials.gov record NCT07339423, sponsored by Novo Nordisk A/S under protocol NN9490-8021 and known as AMAZE 1, registers a randomised, quadruple-masked phase 3 trial of once-weekly subcutaneous NNC0487-0111 against matching placebo in participants with obesity, with an estimated enrollment of 1,150. The record was first posted on January 14, 2026, gives an actual start date of February 24, 2026, was last updated on July 9, 2026, and shows the trial as recruiting with no results posted. No United States marketing approval was identified for amycretin or for its International Nonproprietary Name zenagamtide; that check is an editorial search of the FDA approved-application dataset, recorded on the registry source record, and not a finding of either document cited here.[5][1]

Jurisdiction
United States
Product
Amycretin (NNC0487-0111), International Nonproprietary Name zenagamtide, investigational
Indication
No United States marketing approval identified under either name; a phase 3 obesity trial (AMAZE 1, NCT07339423) is registered and recruiting
Record date
2026-09-08
  • A registered trial is not an approval, and a phase 3 programme is not evidence that a treatment works or is safe. No results are posted for this trial.
  • The registry record for this trial names the intervention only as NNC0487-0111. Identifying that code as amycretin rests on the peer-reviewed characterization report cited alongside it, not on this registry record.
  • No approved United States product was found when the FDA approved-application dataset was searched on September 9, 2026 under amycretin and under zenagamtide. That dataset covers approved applications only, FDA does not publish pending applications, and the search is an editorial currency check recorded on the registry source record rather than a passage of either cited document.
  • This is one registered trial. A registry search on the development code returns further registered studies, including other phase 3 trials, so nothing here describes the whole development programme.
  • This describes the United States registry and application record. It says nothing about the status of amycretin in any other jurisdiction.
  • The recorded date is the date through which the status was confirmed still current, capped at the evidence cutoff. It is not the date of either cited document.
Inspection history

Clinical review: not reviewed by a qualified clinician.

· Added when the record was created, from the ClinicalTrials.gov API version 2 record read on 2026-09-09 with the Drugs@FDA application dataset searched the same day, and with the code-to-name identification carried by an explicit second source rather than assumed. Independent editorial review pending; no qualified clinical review.

· Corrected at independent editorial review on 2026-09-09. Every registry value was confirmed field by field and the Drugs@FDA searches were rerun against a control query that returns a result. Two changes follow: the approved-application search is no longer written as though it were a finding of one of the two cited documents, since neither contains it, and the claim now says that this is one trial of several registered under the development code. No qualified clinical review.

Identity & applicability

Analytical chemistrySupporting passage inspected

Amycretin is a single molecule that acts at both the GLP-1 receptor and the amylin receptor, rather than a mixture of two drugs. Its developers describe it as a 68-amino-acid peptide of molecular formula C343H550N94O116 and average molecular weight 7,847 daltons, made of a GLP-1 receptor agonist part and an amylin receptor agonist part joined by a linker of four glycine residues and one glutamic acid residue. It carries a C18 diacid side chain that binds reversibly to albumin, is amidated at one end, and contains the unnatural amino acid 2-aminoisobutyric acid in the GLP-1 sequence to resist breakdown by dipeptidyl peptidase-4. In laboratory assays it activated human, mouse and rat GLP-1, amylin and calcitonin receptors. The same report states that amycretin is the molecule developed under the code NNC0487-0111.[1]

  • This is a structural and receptor-level description published by the molecule's developers. It establishes what the molecule is, not what it does in people.
  • Receptor activation in cell-based assays does not establish potency, selectivity or effect in a human body.
  • The description identifies the investigational molecule. It says nothing about the identity or contents of any material sold under this name outside a clinical trial.
Inspection history

Clinical review: not reviewed by a qualified clinician.

· Added when the record was created, from the full text read through the Europe PMC full-text endpoint. Independent editorial review pending; no qualified clinical review.

· Confirmed at independent editorial review on 2026-09-09. A reviewer who did not author this claim reopened the full text, which is byte-identical to the copy the author read, and checked the molecular formula, residue count, molecular weight, linker, side chain, amidation, the dipeptidyl peptidase-4 stabilisation and the receptor results against the Results section, and the code-to-name sentence against the Introduction. No change was required. No qualified clinical review.

Analytical chemistrySupporting passage inspected

Zenagamtide is the World Health Organization International Nonproprietary Name that corresponds to amycretin. The name appears as a proposed name in List 133 of 2025 and as a recommended name in List 95 of 2026. Both entries describe a variant of human glucagon-like peptide 1 residues 7 to 37, fused through a four-glycine peptide linker to an artificial 33-residue amylin receptor agonist, amidated at residue 68 and substituted at a lysine with a dicarboxy side chain, and both give the molecular formula C343H550N94O116. The proposed-name entry adds two things the recommended list does not print: the Chemical Abstracts Service registry number 3038191-80-6 and the classification glucagon-like peptide 1 and amylin receptors agonist. That description matches the structure the developers published for amycretin, which carries the same molecular formula, is 68 residues long, has a glycine linker, a terminal amide, a diacid side chain on a lysine, and 2-methylalanine, also written as 2-aminoisobutyric acid, near the start of the glucagon-like peptide 1 sequence. The acylated lysine is the same residue in both accounts: the naming entry places it at residue 31 of its own numbering, which is position 37 in the glucagon-like peptide 1 numbering the developers use.[2][1]

  • The World Health Organization list does not use the name amycretin, and the developers' report does not use the name zenagamtide. The correspondence recorded here is a comparison made by this reference between two inspected descriptions, not a statement that either document makes on its own.
  • The comparison rests on more than a family resemblance. Both documents give the identical molecular formula C343H550N94O116, the same total of 68 residues, an amide at residue 68, a diacid side chain on the same single lysine, and the same unnatural 2-aminoisobutyric acid substitution near the start of the glucagon-like peptide 1 sequence.
  • The two descriptions differ in one detail. The naming entry describes a linker of four glycines occupying residues 32 to 35, which together with 31 residues of glucagon-like peptide 1 and a 33-residue amylin part accounts for all 68 residues, and it places a glutamic acid inside the glucagon-like peptide 1 part; the developers describe a linker of four glycine residues and one glutamic acid residue. Because both documents give the same molecular formula and the same residue total, this reads as a difference in how one molecule is divided into parts rather than as a difference between two molecules. This reference records the difference rather than resolving it.
  • An International Nonproprietary Name is a naming decision. The list states that inclusion implies no recommendation of use, and it is not evidence of approval anywhere.
Inspection history

Clinical review: not reviewed by a qualified clinician.

· Added after searching every WHO Proposed list from 128 to 135 and every Recommended list from 88 to 95 for the name, and comparing the list's chemical description with the published structure. The one point of difference between the two descriptions is recorded rather than smoothed over. Independent editorial review pending; no qualified clinical review.

· Corrected at independent editorial review on 2026-09-09. A reviewer who did not author this claim reopened both lists and found that the registry number and the classification are printed in the proposed list only, and that both lists print the molecular formula, which matches the formula the developers publish. The claim now attributes each element to the list that carries it, states the formula match and the shared acylation position, and gives the residue arithmetic behind the one remaining difference. No qualified clinical review.

Clinical & experimental findings

Human randomized studyAbstract inspected

The first-in-human study of amycretin was a phase 1 trial of the oral formulation. It enrolled 144 adults aged 18 to 55 years with overweight or obesity at a single research unit between May 2022 and January 2024, across a single-dose part, a multiple-dose part and a twelve-week dose-escalation part. Its primary end point was the number of treatment-emergent adverse events. Across all parts there were 364 such events in 89 of the 144 participants (62%); all were mild or moderate in severity and became more frequent at higher doses. Gastrointestinal events made up 180 of the 364 events (49%) and occurred in 72 of the 89 participants who reported any event (81%). No deaths were reported, and plasma concentrations were consistent with dose proportionality. The investigators concluded that the results supported further investigation.[3]

  • A phase 1 study. It is designed to look at safety, tolerability and drug levels in a small group over a short period, and cannot show whether a treatment works.
  • Abstract-only inspection: the tables and appendix were not read.
  • Single-centre, in adults aged 18 to 55 years, with intervention periods of one day, ten days or twelve weeks. Nothing here describes longer use, older adults or people with other conditions.
  • Bodyweight and fasting glucose were exploratory endpoints in one part of the study and are not reported here as outcomes.
  • Sponsor-run and sponsor-authored, with the principal investigator employed by a contract research organisation the sponsor paid.
Inspection history

Clinical review: not reviewed by a qualified clinician.

· Added when the record was created, from the freshly retrieved abstract, and labelled explicitly as phase 1. Independent editorial review pending; no qualified clinical review.

· Confirmed at independent editorial review on 2026-09-09. A reviewer who did not author this claim retrieved the abstract again and checked the enrolment total, the three study parts, the enrolment dates, the primary endpoint, the event and participant counts with their percentages, the gastrointestinal proportions, the absence of deaths and the pharmacokinetic statement. All match, and no dose from the abstract is reproduced. No change was required. No qualified clinical review.

Human randomized studyAbstract inspected

An early-phase 1b/2a study tested amycretin given by subcutaneous injection. Between September 2023 and April 2024, 125 adults aged 18 to 55 years with overweight or obesity were allocated at a single centre, 101 to amycretin and 24 to placebo, across five parts with different maintenance doses and treatment durations. The primary end point was the number of treatment-emergent adverse events; the most common were gastrointestinal, and the report describes the majority as mild to moderate and resolved by the end of the study. Estimated mean bodyweight change from baseline was greater with amycretin than placebo in each of the four multiple-dose parts: -24.3% against -1.1% at week 36, -22.0% against 1.9% at week 36, -16.2% against 2.3% at week 28, and -9.7% against 2.0% at week 20. The report itself states that a large number of participants withdrew, with a high proportion of discontinuations for reasons unrelated to adverse events.[4]

  • This is an early-phase study whose primary end point was adverse events, not weight. The bodyweight figures are secondary and come from small parts with different durations, so they are not one randomized efficacy comparison and must not be read as phase 3 results.
  • The report states that a large number of participants withdrew. The abstract gives no withdrawal numbers, so how much that attrition affects the bodyweight estimates cannot be judged from this record.
  • Each part is small, single-centre, and limited to adults aged 18 to 55 years with overweight or obesity.
  • Abstract-only inspection: the tables and appendix were not read.
  • Sponsor-run and largely sponsor-authored.
  • Doses and durations appear here only because they identify the study parts whose results are reported.
Inspection history

Clinical review: not reviewed by a qualified clinician.

· Added when the record was created, from the freshly retrieved abstract, labelled as early phase, and carrying the study's own statement about withdrawals rather than reporting the weight figures alone. Independent editorial review pending; no qualified clinical review.

· Confirmed at independent editorial review on 2026-09-09. A reviewer who did not author this claim retrieved the abstract again and checked the allocation numbers and dates, the primary endpoint, all eight bodyweight percentages, their four timepoints and the withdrawal sentence, which appears in the source in almost the same words. All match, and no maintenance dose from the abstract is reproduced. No change was required. No qualified clinical review.

Animal / laboratorySupporting passage inspected

In animal experiments reported by the developers, amycretin given to diet-induced obese rats for 21 days reduced total energy intake by 47% and lowered body weight by 18% relative to pre-treatment, compared with vehicle-treated animals, while energy expenditure was maintained. In a separate, longer experiment in diet-induced obese rats, insulin sensitivity improved, shown by higher glucose infusion rates during a hyperinsulinaemic euglycemic clamp. The compound reached areas of the mouse brain that regulate food intake, and in a mouse model of metabolic dysfunction-associated steatotic liver disease it improved histological features, mainly by reducing steatosis.[1]

  • These are results in mice and rats. Animal effect sizes do not transfer to people, and a benefit in a rodent model is not evidence of benefit in a person.
  • Diet-induced obesity and diet-induced liver disease in rodents are laboratory models, not the human conditions they are named after.
  • The experiments were designed, funded, conducted and written up by the sponsor, whose employees are the authors.
  • The exposures used in animals are experimental conditions. They are not comparable to any human exposure and are not stated here.
Inspection history

Clinical review: not reviewed by a qualified clinician.

· Added when the record was created, kept explicitly separate from the human phase 1 findings. Independent editorial review pending; no qualified clinical review.

· Corrected at independent editorial review on 2026-09-09. The full text places the insulin sensitivity clamp in a separate experiment with a longer dosing period than the 21-day study described in the first sentence, so the two are no longer presented as one cohort. Every figure in the claim was checked against the source and is unchanged. No qualified clinical review.

What remains unresolved

Editorial assessment

These notes describe the scope of this review. Linked PMIDs are audit identifiers; an identifier alone does not verify a claim.

Record added on 2026-09-09 from two early-phase trial reports inspected as abstracts, one laboratory and animal report read in full, one WHO nonproprietary-name list and one trial registry record. Six narrowly scoped findings are published after independent editorial review, which required thirteen corrections. The alias zenagamtide is published because the name was located in two WHO lists whose chemical description, including the molecular formula, matches the structure the developers published; the reviewer found that the formula appears in both documents, which strengthens the identification, and corrected the record's claim that Recommended List 95 carries a Chemical Abstracts Service number, which it does not. All human evidence on this record is early phase, and the published findings say so.

  • Neither Lancet full text was obtained, so no table, appendix or protocol was inspected for either human study. The phase 1b and 2a report states that a large number of participants withdrew without giving the numbers, so the effect of that attrition on its bodyweight figures is unknown to this reference.
  • The 2026 narrative review named by the project owner is not cited at all: its full text was unreachable through the publisher, DOI resolution and Europe PMC, and the owner's condition for including it was full-text access.
  • The correspondence between the name zenagamtide and amycretin is a comparison this reference makes between two documents, neither of which uses the other's term. One point of difference between the two descriptions is recorded on the published finding.
  • The trial registry record for AMAZE 1 names its intervention only by development code, so the identification depends on a single sentence in a single publication.
  • No phase 3 evidence exists yet. AMAZE 1 has no posted results, and a registered trial is not evidence that a treatment works or is safe.
  • Every document inspected for this record was authored or sponsored by the manufacturer. Regulatory status outside the United States was not researched, the wider literature was not searched, and no qualified clinician has reviewed any of this.

This reference does not supply a dosing plan, monitoring timetable or recovery regimen. Discuss personal symptoms, medicines and laboratory results with a qualified clinician.

Explore the interaction evidence for this compound →

References

  1. The effect of amycretin, a unimolecular glucagon-like peptide-1 and amylin receptor agonist, on body weight and metabolic dysfunction in mice and rats

    Kuhre RE, Ballarín-González B, Brand CL, Glendorf T, Madsen KG, Hjøllund KR. EBioMedicine. Volume 118, article 105862; print issue dated August 2025, electronically published July 23, 2025. Six of fourteen listed authors are recorded here; the complete author list is on the PubMed record. 2025-07-23. PMID:40706446 · PMCID:PMC12309853 · DOI:10.1016/j.ebiom.2025.105862 Full text inspected.

    Inspected location: Research in context panel; Introduction, including the sentence naming amycretin as NNC0487-0111; Methods (peptide synthesis, in vitro potency assays, single-dose pharmacokinetics, food intake and body weight in diet-induced obese animals, whole-brain distribution, insulin sensitivity clamp, and the liver-disease model); Results, Amycretin structure with Figure 1; declaration of interests

    Study context and inspection record
  2. WHO Recommended International Nonproprietary Names: List 95

    Published in WHO Drug Information, Volume 40, Number 1, 2026. The list carries no printed day or month of its own, so only the year is recorded. The retrieved file's own creation timestamp is 11 March 2026. 2026. WHO Drug Information Vol. 40 No. 1 (2026) Regulatory document.

    Inspected location: Front-matter notice describing the selection procedure and the disclaimer that inclusion implies no recommendation of use; the column heading stating that each entry gives a chemical name or description, a molecular formula and a graphic formula; the entry for zenagamtidum and zenagamtide on printed pages 247 and 248, with its English, French and Spanish chemical descriptions and its molecular formula C343 H550 N94 O116

    Study context and inspection record
  3. Safety, tolerability, pharmacokinetics, and pharmacodynamics of the first-in-class GLP-1 and amylin receptor agonist, amycretin: a first-in-human, phase 1, double-blind, randomised, placebo-controlled trial

    Gasiorek A, Heydorn A, Gabery S, Hjerpsted JB, Kirkeby K, Kruse T. The Lancet. 406(10499):135-148; print issue dated July 12, 2025, electronically published June 20, 2025. Six of ten listed authors are recorded here; the complete author list is on the PubMed record. 2025-06-20. PMID:40550229 · DOI:10.1016/S0140-6736(25)01176-6 · ClinicalTrials.gov:NCT05369390 Abstract only.

    Inspected location: Complete structured abstract (Background, Methods, Findings, Interpretation, Funding) and the declaration of interests, retrieved through NCBI E-utilities efetch, together with the PubMed record's publication types, article dates, registered trial identifier and CommentsCorrections list

    Study context and inspection record
  4. Amycretin, a novel, unimolecular GLP-1 and amylin receptor agonist administered subcutaneously: results from a phase 1b/2a randomised controlled study

    Dahl K, Toubro S, Dey S, Duque do Vale R, Flint A, Gasiorek A. The Lancet. 406(10499):149-162; print issue dated July 12, 2025, electronically published June 20, 2025. Six of twelve listed authors are recorded here; the complete author list is on the PubMed record. 2025-06-20. PMID:40550231 · DOI:10.1016/S0140-6736(25)01185-7 · ClinicalTrials.gov:NCT06064006 Abstract only.

    Inspected location: Complete structured abstract (Background, Methods, Findings, Interpretation, Funding) and the declaration of interests, retrieved through NCBI E-utilities efetch, together with the PubMed record's publication types, article dates, registered trial identifier and CommentsCorrections list

    Study context and inspection record
  5. ClinicalTrials.gov record NCT07339423: Efficacy and Safety of NNC0487-0111 s.c. Once-weekly in Participants With Obesity (AMAZE 1)

    Record first posted 14 January 2026; the recorded publication date is the record's own last update posted date. Status information verified by the sponsor in July 2026. 2026-07-09. ClinicalTrials.gov:NCT07339423 · Sponsor protocol:NN9490-8021 · EU CT:2024-520440-42 Regulatory document.

    Inspected location: Identification module (registry identifier, sponsor protocol number, secondary identifiers, brief and official titles, acronym); status module (overall status, actual start date, estimated completion dates, first posted and last update posted dates); sponsor module; design module (study type, phase, allocation, masking, estimated enrollment); conditions module; arms and interventions module

    Study context and inspection record

Source inspection and clinical review are separate. An abstract check is not a full-text review. The records above identify what was actually inspected and do not certify the complete literature.

Recorded verification attempts
  • PubMed E-utilities efetch on 2026-09-09 for PMID 40550229, 40550231, 40706446 and 41850421: complete abstracts, authorship, journal metadata, article dates, registered trial identifiers, publication types, conflict-of-interest statements and CommentsCorrections. No erratum, retraction or expression of concern is indexed for any of them.
  • Europe PMC full-text endpoint on 2026-09-09 for PMC12309853: the laboratory and animal characterization report read, including the structure results, the receptor assays, the animal experiments and the declaration of interests.
  • WHO International Nonproprietary Names lists on 2026-09-09: the list index read and sixteen list documents downloaded from the WHO content domain and searched for the name zenagamtide, which appears in Proposed List 133 of 2025 and Recommended List 95 of 2026 and in no other list in that range. The independent reviewer additionally checked Proposed Lists 134 and 135, Recommended List 94 and confirmed that no later list of either kind had yet been published.
  • ClinicalTrials.gov API version 2 on 2026-09-09: the AMAZE 1 record NCT07339423 read for phase, status, sponsor, dates and intervention, and registry term sweeps run for amycretin, zenagamtide and the development code NNC0487-0111.
  • openFDA Drugs@FDA application dataset on 2026-09-09 for both amycretin and zenagamtide: no matches under either name.
  • Full text of both Lancet trial reports was sought and refused; neither has a PubMed Central copy. The 2026 narrative review was sought through DOI resolution, the publisher and Europe PMC, all of which failed, so it is not cited at all.
  • Not searched in this batch: regulators outside the United States, the wider amycretin literature beyond the publications the project owner named, any null, negative or unfavourable report, and any material sold under this name outside a clinical trial.

View this compound in the research library →

Related records in this class

Grouped under Peptides for navigation only. Shared class membership does not make findings, formulations or evidence interchangeable between records.

StackItSmart

Age confirmation

This reference discusses steroids, SARMs and other compounds. It is educational, not medical advice, and does not recommend using or combining them.

Your confirmation is saved in this browser when storage is available.